Author Jodi Desautels

Hi Adele and friends. Adele, I would like to thank you for inviting me to your blog and for interviewing me today!

Name : My name is Jodi Desautels.

Where do you live? I live in a small town in Vermont.

Tell us a little about yourself (your education, family life, etc.) Let’s see. I am a wife and mother. I live in the country, where I see more four legged critters than two legged ones from my house. I have a bachelor’s degree in psychology and a master’s degree in elementary education. Right now, I am a caregiver for my mother-in-law, which gives me the opportunity to write, illustrate, and create my educational site.

What is your genre? So far, I have two children’s picture books and a children’s activity book that are currently published.

When and why did you begin writing? (What inspired you to write your first book?) The first book I published, which is not published at this time, was inspired by a night I spent with my grandparents and heard rain on the tin roof for the first time. That book means quite a bit to me. It is called, “There Were Always Noises.” I hope to re-illustrate it and re-publish it some day. However, the first book that I wrote, illustrated, formatted, and published myself is “Clarinda Cloud.” That book is pretty special to me as well. (All my books are special to me in one way or another. LOL!)

What was the hardest part of writing your book? I think the hardest part of the actual writing process is either trying to decide where I want the story to go or the editing process; probably the latter. Coming up with the subject or idea is usually the easiest part.

When did you first consider yourself a writer? I think I first considered myself a writer when I signed my first book. That was a cool experience!

Do you have to travel much to market your book(s)? I don’t travel much right now due to my care giving responsibilities! I hope to be able to get out more at some point!

Who designs your book covers? My covers were designed by various people:
“There Were Always Noises” (no longer in print): by publisher
“Johnny’s Adventure Makes Reading Fun”: Sarah Bowman
“Clarinda Cloud”: me
“Clarinda Cloud Activity Book”: me

What is your current project? Oh..,. that is a good question. I think I have so many projects going on that it is difficult to know which one is “the” one. I have like 5 different children’s stories that are in various drafts waiting for illustrations. (I do wish my illustrating skills were better.) THAT is what I have been working on lately. I am trying to practice illustrating, so I can start illustrating some of my other stories. I have also been working on building my educational network and expanding my educational site. (I also have a novel I have started I don’t know how many times and a YA novel that I started not long ago.)

What, if anything, are you reading now? I haven’t read a paperback book in quite a while. I am usually reading drafts or manuscripts in a PDF for my author friends or material for my blogs. Right now I am reading “Granny Irene’s Guide to the Afterlife- Revenge Part 1” by Ingrid Hall.
What books and/or authors have influenced your life most? I would say that many authors, past and present, have influenced me. Among past authors are Eve Bunting, Shel Silverstein, Dr. Seuss, and Maurice Sendak who have influenced me. Yet, as an author, I think some of my current author friends have influenced me the most. People like Virginia Wright, Angela Harris, Sarah Bowman, and Rhonda Patton have encouraged me and supported me quite a bit. I have other writer friends who have also been among my top supporters such as Debra Cornelius and Cathy Carper. I appreciate all of them!

Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it? Yes, I actually have quite a few websites. I have two main ones, which are my author site and my educational site.

Author Jodi Desautels
DUO Education (my educational site)

If you don’t mind, I would also like to give you the links to find my books:
“Johnny’s Adventure Makes Reading Fun”
“Clarinda Cloud”
“Clarinda Cloud Activity Book”

Would you be kind enough to share a little of your current work with us?
I don’t know if I consider this my “current work” or not, but this is part of one of the stories awaiting illustrations:
While waiting for the bus, she heard the birds chirping pretty songs. She saw the squirrels scampering all around. The bees were even buzzing around her mother’s flower garden. It seemed like such a cheery morning. Yet, Sarah couldn’t seem to enjoy it. Soon she could see the bus coming around the bend. She pulled her sleeves as far down around her wrists as she possibly could and tightened her hood around her face. Then, she gathered her belongings and stood ready for the bus.

Do you have anything else you would like to share with my readers? I would just like to say…that if you have a dream to write…. Then, you should write! I put it off for many years, because I didn’t have the self-esteem and self-confidence to do it. I also didn’t enjoy writing papers in school when I was younger, so thought that would impede my writing later on. Yet, now that I am friends with many authors and I have more confidence, I enjoy it! I am not afraid to try new things. I know that if I need feedback, or if I need encouragement, or if I have a question, someone will be there to help! I am a writer now! I am a published author…. And it feels so good! My younger and less confident self would have never believed it!

About creationsbycrouch

Author of bilingual children's books and artist.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Children's books, Clarinda Cloud, fiction, Jodi Desautels, Johnny's Adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

