Jennifer Wilson, 11 year-old Author and Illustrator

Name :
Jennifer Wilson

Where do you live:
Oregon

Tell us a little about yourself (your education, family life, etc.)

A little about me: I have four amazing friends and I have an awesome mom, a hardworking dad, a hyperactive brother and a cute little dog! I used to go to Cesar Chavez Elementary but recently I graduated so I am going to go to middle school as soon as summer is over. And I would like to mention that I do love a good horror movie!

What is your genre?

For a while I have done poetry such as Dogs Forever and Satyrs are Cool! But I also like to write fantasy!

Do you have a specific artistic style?

Actually yes, I draw manga or Anime as some call it. That’s my favorite type anyway, sometimes I don’t use it.

When and why did you begin illustrating? (What inspired you to illustrate your first book?)

My two aunts inspired me to become an illustrator while my mom inspired me to become a writer, so when I had a chance I illustrated me and Mom’s first book.

What is the hardest part of illustrating?

The hardest part of illustrating is probably drawing to the author’s descriptions and drawing it so that people can tell what it is.

When did you first consider yourself an artist?

I considered myself an artist after I became happy with my art.

Do you have help with your designs?

No I do not have help with my designs.

What have you learned in the process of illustrating that you can share with others?

That you should never give up and if you love drawing or any kind of art you shouldn’t give up just because you don’t think that you’re good enough. Just don’t give up!

What is your current project?

Right now I am working on a book called The Wolf Guardian.

Would you be kind enough to share a little of your current work with us?

The Wolf Guardian is about a young wolf named Shadow who’s childhood was ruined by an evil wolf named Scratch, but little do either know, they met by fate.

Do you see the art of an illustrator as a career?

Yes I do.

What, if anything, are you reading now?

Lately I have finished a book called A Million Little Pieces and gave it a review on my Facebook page. But now I am reading “Admit it, You’re Crazy!” By Judy Reiser.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yes, James Frey, author of “A Million Little Pieces”. And I would like to read his other books.

What books and/or authors have influenced your life most?

My mom has influenced my life most. She is one of my favorite authors because of the amazing stories and books she writes!

Name your favorite illustrator and what it is about their work that has won your favoritism?

Definitely Vincent Van Gogh! He won my favoritism because of how everyone thought his art wasn’t good and how he still made art through the pain of his life. And how he saw things differently and painted them that way was wondrous and fascinating. He is definitely my favorite.

Do you have any advice and/or tips for other illustrators?

Like I said before, never give up! Always have an open mind to changes! And, for me, I would always think of a back story for the characters to imagine the happiness, loneliness or sadness that occurred in his/her life to give them their appearance and personalities. It works for me!

Is there anything else you would like to say to your readers?

Yes, I would like to say to buy, buy, buy books! Not just mine, I mean books with paper, not with electronics! I’m afraid that one day, we won’t have real books anymore! And that we will have only electronic books! So keep books with paper up in stores and save them for future generations!

Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?

My website
Join me on Facebook

About creationsbycrouch

Author of bilingual children's books and artist.
This entry was posted in Illustrator Interview, Jennifer Wilson, The Wolf Guardian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jennifer Wilson, 11 year-old Author and Illustrator

  1. Millie says:

    What a joy to read! And Jen should know that her aunts Millie and Allison are VERY proud of her! Go Jen!

Leave a Reply

