Ivano Massari, Author of Sirion (A fantasy novel)

Name :
Ivano Massari

Where do you live?
In Wicklow County in Ireland.

Tell us a little about yourself (your education, family life, etc.)
I grew up in Cape Town, South Africa, and obtained my Bachelor of Arts Degree from the University of Cape Town, with majors in History and Biblical Studies. I then did my teaching degree through North West University.
I met Manon, in Johannesburg, at Saint John the Baptist school where we were both teaching at the time. Four years later we got married and I adopted her beautiful daughter Gabrielle and became her very proud father.

What is your genre?
I write mostly fantasy but have also dabbled in science fiction, poetry, humour and, while working for READ Educational Trust, a number of educational books. I also wrote articles on lives of the saints for a Catholic publication. As a Learning Designer I have the opportunity to script eLearning modules.

When and why did you begin writing? (What inspired you to write your first book?)
Ever since reading The Lord of the Rings as a child, I have dreamt of writing fantasy books. I finally got around to putting pen to paper and making this dream a reality with my first fantasy book Sirion which is now available through Gypsy Shadow Publishing. Click here

What was the hardest part of writing your book?
I didn’t really find the writing difficult and I enjoyed every moment of it.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?
I’ve been writing for many years but I think when I joined READ Educational Trust I really thought of myself as a writer.

Do you have to travel much to market your book(s)?
No, I don’t have to travel to do any marketing.

Who designs your book covers?
My beautiful and talented wife, Manon Daniels Massari, is a freelance author and illustrator, and she designed my front cover and all the character illustrations.

What is your current project?
I’ve recently completed Memoirs of a Jobseeker, a humorous look at the job hunting situation in Ireland, which is still in the editing stage, and I am currently writing the sequel to Sirion.

What, if anything, are you reading now?
I enjoy reading non-fiction books on history, theology and education.

What books and/or authors have influenced your life most?
J.R.R. Tolkien has always been one of my favourite authors and I also enjoy reading the works of Malachi Martin and Marcel Lefebvre.

Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
No I piggyback off my wife’s Facebook page in the album Sirion.

Would you be kind enough to share a little of your current work with us?
Arvan, the sequel to Sirion, is a follow up to the first book and has some of the original characters in it, as well as many new figures. It’s really a continuation of the ongoing struggle by the inhabitants of southern Mendleburg to protect their homeland from invasion by the Druadian Empire.

Do you have anything else you would like to share with my readers?
I hope that readers of Sirion will enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

About creationsbycrouch

Author of bilingual children's books and artist.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Fantasy novel, Ivano Massari, Sirion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

