Rusty Trimble Author of Andrew and the Pirate Cove

Name : Rusty Trimble

Where do you live? San Diego, CA in the Clairemont Area

Tell us a little about yourself I am 42 years old (born in 71 and was born and raised in San Diego. I graduated from Clairemont High School and attended a number of community colleges as well. I am married to my wife Nickcole and two children (Andrew and Tyler). I love writing, playing softball, playing any kind of game, and spending time with my children

What is your genre? Children’s fiction and adult noir fiction

When and why did you begin writing? (What inspired you to write your first book?) My first book was titled “30 Tales of Terror” written when I was 14 in the 9th grade and inspired by The Twilight Zone and written in pencil. It was never submitted as each story was one page each and it was not really good. I misplaced it sadly as it would be fun to read nearly 30 years later. My current foray into writing was due to my son Andrew. He is Autistic and during bath times, he enjoyed me taking his toys and making little shows for him. He asked me to turn it into a book. I wrote and illustrated Andrew’s Great Train Adventure. I have written and illustrated 8 children’s books, three children’s novels, a baseball novel for all ages, and an anthology of noir short stories for adults. I then decided to pledge 50% of all my profits to causes which seek treatment for and/or research Autism and Autism Spectrum Disorders.

What was the hardest part of writing your book? The hardest is being patient. I have numerous times thought “Yes! I am done”, only to spot a typo, grammatical error, or continuity error in the story. It is critical to engage someone to proofread your work. At the same time, take the time to read your book patiently 2-3 times. The benefit is you will spot things that could be improved or even added. My last book Andrew and the Pirate Cove I read at least ten times and kept adding to the story until my proofreader and I agreed it was done. The other part is bearing down. I am working on my first adult noir novel called Tammany Hall, but I have several other book ideas that I want to work on. It gets easy to take a break to begin working on some other idea and then never get back on track. It is best to keep a “book journal” for each idea and write things down as they come to you so when you are really ready you will get a jump start on your new book.

When did you first consider yourself a writer? I am not sure – I think when you are self-publishing and have not found any success with commercial publishers, you have a good deal of self-doubt about your skill since success is elusive. I think when my son Andrew told me that he loved my stories (all of my children’s books have him as the star), I felt I had “arrived” at least in some capacity.

Do you have to travel much to market your book(s)? So far not much. I have mainly used the Internet. I am planning to travel to a few independent local stores and will try Barnes and Noble as well, but since I publish (so far) through lulu.com, I am not sure it will work beyond them selling my stories as eBooks.

Who designs your book covers? I am proud to say that I have done all my own illustrations for my books and the covers.

What is your current project? I am currently working on Tammany Hall. In a nutshell, the main character Steve Murak is a retired police officer, mid 40s. He wrote a best-selling true crime book on a serial killer and used the proceeds to provide financial capital for the bar Tammany Hall and the upstairs restaurant The Tenderloin (think Cheers and upstairs Melvilles for a general idea I guess). Steve is stuck in a marriage with a shrewish, verbally abusive, and unfaithful wife who is dying of cancer, his father is not much better, and he spends much of his day vegetating at Tammany Hall drinking and more or less wasting away, too depressed and languid to affect any change in his life. This all changes when a mafia don, dying of heart disease approaches him and hires him to write his biography for him. I have completed about 60 pages of the rough draft, expecting it to be about 300-400 pages long. I am also working on the second book of the Andrew Trilogy (the first being Andrew and the Pirate Cove), and am beginning to journal and storyboard a sword and sorcery story, but am only compiling ideas, not even sure if it will be for kids, teens, adults, or all audiences.

What, if anything, are you reading now? The Gold Coast and its sequel The Gate House (written 18 years later) by Nelson DeMille

What books and/or authors have influenced your life most? Nelson DeMille’s books above inspired me to write Tammany Hall, they are two of the best books I ever read. Michael Moorcock’s Elric and Corum series inspired my desires to write sword and sorcery. Jude Watson’s Last of the Jedi 10 book series were also inspiring. The late George Alec Effinger’s Marid Audran series (first of the cyberpunk novels) were also very inspiring.

Do you have a blog/website? If so what is it?
My author site – My eBooks and my paperback of Andrew and the Pirate Cove can be purchased there.
Myblog
my paperbacks are available here under my name of Rusty Trimble.

Would you be kind enough to share a little of your current work with us? Here are the first few pages of Andrew and the Pirate Cove

Andrew looked around the room and took turns alternately blinking and rubbing his eyes. He was in a small one- room flat overlooking the Thames river estuary. The room itself was relatively nondescript. There was nothing personal adorning the room such as pictures or other décor that would indicate that the home boasted a current resident.
The actual furnishings were sparse, a small cot with a dusty pillow and a blanket that had seen better days. The floor was wooden and showed evidence of a great deal of foot traffic and little if any cleaning. The walls were painted a sky blue, but had many areas where the wood behind it was completely exposed. Someone had indeed stayed here, perhaps many people had, but it hardly appeared to be a residence of someone seeking luxury.
The accoutrements of the room were of little concern to him right now however. Of utmost importance was the question of where he was. He had suffered a moment of disorientation and confusion immediately after finding himself there. In simple terms, everything spun around and suddenly he was elsewhere; though he had no idea where he had been before. There was no smoke, no fire and brimstone, or any other strange occurrence that preceded his arrival in this dwelling. He tried hard to remember where he had just been, but as hard as he tried the knowledge eluded him.
His last memory was from the day before. He had been at his elementary school with Mrs. Hobbes, his 2nd grade teacher. That was his last memory. He had been a really good boy that day and his teacher had rewarded him with a small piece of candy and marked his daily progress sheet with an “Excellent”. Excellent was the top rating that was possible, the other ones being “Good”, “Satisfactory” and “Needs improvement”. He had remembered his dad waiting for him to take him to the local aquarium for some father and son time.
That was it that was the most recent event in his life he could remember. One moment school was out and he was being greeted excitedly by his dad, the next he was standing alone in this deserted and creepy room. He looked around again for any sign that could give him some idea of how he had arrived there, but there was no evidence forthcoming.
There was a flight of stairs just off to the right which he ascended. He saw a rickety bookcase and an open window, the room was otherwise bare. He looked at the bookcase and there were a handful of tattered books, many of them covered with dust. In fact he would have to wipe a layer of filth off of almost any of them just to make out the title.
Andrew walked to the window. He looked out and saw several signs that said the word “London” on them. He knew from school that London was England’s largest city and its capital city as well. England in turn was a country in Europe and part of the United Kingdom. The United Kingdom or UK was a grouping of three other countries to create one blended form of government. He had never of course been to England, but he had met a few people from there and found their slightly different way of speaking to be quite charming.
The sky above was blue; it appeared to be early afternoon. The sun shone brightly and there were a number of white, puffy clouds ornamenting the sky. He was able to see for many miles in several directions as he leaned out of the window. There were hundreds of houses and businesses as far as he could see. Most of the buildings had chimneys, both large and small plumes of smoke belched out of the majority of them. It made the air he breathed feel a bit acrid, and while it was bad manners, he spat a few times trying to clear his mouth and throat. The smoke tainted the color of the sky, but he had to confess that despite this, it was a marvelous sight and he did for a short moment forget his circumstances.
He was enthralled with the myriad of people below that were oddly dressed walking to and fro, going about their daily lives. The city itself seemed alive with activity. There were horses and carriages rambling about the town and people wearing a variety of hats that were frequently tipped off in greeting from one to another as they passed. It was all incredibly exciting.
He briefly recalled his unusual predicament, but forgot about it just as quickly and resumed looking around, his gaze finding the blue-green ocean that stretched out as far as the eye could see. There was a large dock nearby and close to forty ships of varying size nestled there. He observed more than one of them setting sail and a few vessels had already launched, having begun a journey about which he could only imagine.
Each ship he saw had a flag, some had more than one. He took some time admiring the various designs, some of them rather outlandish, perhaps being an insignia or some unknown country or an organization. He also tried to spot the infamous skull and crossbones or Jolly Roger that were synonymous with pirates. He assumed that he would glimpse at least one judging by his surroundings.

Do you have anything else you would like to share with my readers? Writing is one of the best experiences ever if you do it for enjoyment. My experience has taught me that very few writers make enough money to live off of and even fewer strike it rich. That said, while I hope to be the next best-seller, I find writing a great outlet as I have many stories in my head I enjoy telling and I have a built in audience with my friends and family. I am myself a very approachable person, so if you read this and want to correspond with me, drop me a line on facebook or email me. I love making new friends and especially aspiring writers, so I look forward to hearing from you.

About creationsbycrouch

Author of bilingual children's books and artist.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

